First Amendment= Freedom?

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

            As a collegiate photojournalism student, the First Amendment equates to freedom. This amendment allows everyone to speak freely to express their point of view or in my case, tell a story with visual representation. The krages.com article states, “The general rule in the United States is that anyone may take photographs of whatever they want when they are in a public place or places where they have permission to take photographs.” By having the ability to capture the picture-perfect moments around me, I have the ability to touch someone else’s life and get them to feel the same way I felt when I captured it.

            With limited restrictions, the opportunity to spread awareness on different topics becomes easier. Nobody can prevent you from self-expression. As an aspiring photojournalist, I’m glad that I had the opportunity to learn in-depth about my first amendment rights as a photographer. I now have the knowledge I would need in the work force to avoid any confrontations by knowing my rights. I’m also glad that I learned the more ethical aspects about taking photos under different circumstances. All of the information that I obtained from this lesson will definitely be beneficial in the near future as I develop more as a photojournalist.

Leave a Reply

